Was It Really Worth It?

Hello again style people.

I will be the first to admit I have a bit of an addiction to shoes, clothes and all things relating to fashion. I just love to shop. But sometimes that fun addiction can cause financial trouble, BIG financial trouble.

I have been fortunate enough not to get into any real trouble with my finances. But how sometimes I do not know.

With my student loans adding up every year, and soon I will need money to move out and start my life. I started a plan when it comes to shopping and deciding what I need or sadly don’t need.

I know it’s going to be hard… very hard. This blog wasn’t named Your Style High on accident. I know all about that rush, that high you get from looking, finding and buying the current seasons hottest shirts, jackets, shoes, pants, and everything else that is pretty.

The next time we want those black leather gladiator sandals that just went on sale at Aldo. We can just check out financial tip list.

1. Think about the cost per wear. How many times do you plan to wear those shoes in the next 6-12 months. If it’s only a couple times and they’re $100 they might not be worth it. But if they are an every day shoe it is probably is worth it the money.

2. Don’t be fooled by sales. Sometimes they are good and you can get amazing pieces at amazing prices. But other times you end up getting crap or buying something you already have.

2.5. Take inventory of your wardrobe before you shop. If you have 10 other black tops that are very similar you probably don’t need an 11th.

3. Before you make a big purchase or even any purchase, think about it. If I’m shopping at the mall I will put it on hold for the day while I visit other stores, then come back and see how I feel about it. If it’s a big purchase wait a week or longer to see if you still like it.

4. If you want a costly item save for it, and then have a limit. I’m dying over the Jeffrey Campbell Zhora’s, but they aren’t going to be an impulse buy or something I can just go out any day to purchase. Each paycheck I’m putting a little money away until I have enough to buy them. But when I get them I know they will have been worth the wait.

Thanks for visiting,
hope to see you soon.
Rachel

2 responses to “Was It Really Worth It?

  1. These are great things to think about, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

