3 Things NEVER to Pay Retail For

Hello fashion friends.

This list has been in the making for awhile, and it was created through my personal experience from shopping at thrift stores. Hope you enjoy.

1. Denim Jackets. My denim jacket collection is up to about 8 now, and all but one have been purchased at thrift or resale stores. The one that did come from retail was purchased at Kohl’s on clearance so it was only about $10 with all the coupons and sales happening. Back to the point. Denim jackets are in abundance at the thrift stores. Just start looking, and you will not be able to stop finding them. That’s how my collection grew and grew… and grew. Plus denim is so easy to play with to make it personalized. All you need is some scissors, dye, bleach, or studs.

2. Sweaters. In particular ugly sweaters for Ugly Sweater Tuesday. You can find some of the best, most unique sweaters from thrift stores. I’d say 99.9% of my sweater collection is from thrift stores. If you’re not into the ugly sweaters though, solid colors sweaters are just as easy to find at the thrift shop. Plus if you buy them on the off-season like summer, you can get them for $1.49 at Goodwill.

3. T-shirts. They are so hot right now. Everyone is rocking their favorite band, favorite quote or just a random picture on their shirt. You can tie them, cut them or tuck them to create your own look. And the BEST place to find a rare tee no one else will be rocking this season is at the thrift store. If you’re again not into the graphic tee, there is plenty of basic tee’s in every color for everyone thrifting.

Thanks for visiting,
hope to see you soon.
Rachel

7 responses to “3 Things NEVER to Pay Retail For

  1. Great idea about the denim jackets. I’ve been looking to add a cute, cropped one to my collection so I’ll have to check out some thrift stores.

    Sweaters I don’t usually like to buy second hand because they seem to absorb funky “thrift store” smells really easily.

    • Very true about the sweaters. Some of them need a little extra detergent when you wash them. But all mine have come out clean and smelling fresh.
      Good luck with your denim hunt, hope you find what you’re looking for! Thanks for the comment.

  2. I’m going to add to this list….everything! haha…maybe I can’t go quite that far…I do still shop retial, although on sale, but my goodwill and thrift obsession has caused most ALL of my home decor and clothing to be thrifted. And I get compliments on most of it! Meaning I’m not sacrificing style for shopping thrift, I’m just getting more of it:) And I lurrrrv it! People are always shocked when I tell them something they liked is from Goodwill.

    • I agree with everything you just said. Isn’t it the best when you get a compliment on something you paid less than $5 for!? That’s my favorite part of thrifting. And I think a lot of street trends come from people shopping at thrift stores.
      Thanks for the comment!

  3. Also belts. So many belts for $2. Why would you buy them new? I dunnunderstand.

    • SOO TOTALLY AGREE with the belts idea! Target always donates a ton of belts to Goodwill, and I love finding them.
      Thanks for the comment!

  4. I thought about this before but it’s nice to actually have a list of things to never buy full price. Great post! Check out my blog: saracathleen.wordpress.com, I would really appreciate it! xoxo

Leave a Reply

