DIY Day: Trashed to Trendy

heyhey my fashion friends.

I’m sorry my blog has been down for the past few days; some things got mixed up at WordPress, but it’s back and I’m ready to blog. I have about a week and half left before I return to my dorm room, and I want to bust out some DIY’s and Lookbooks before I leave. Also now that my blog is back, I plan to within the next week or so change my url from http://www.raesstyle.wordpress.com to just www.raesstyle.com (it’s not active yet).

Today is a DIY. Yesterday my friend and I shot a lookbook (coming soon), when we finished we started heading out to the mall but decided neither of us needed to buy anything. Instead we decided to go to Wal-Mart pick up so fabric dye, and do a DIY.

Ribbet collage3

Awhile ago I tried to bleach a denim jacket, but ended up leaving the jacket in the bleach too long, and it turned to a yucky white color. I have been meaning to do something with it for a while, but just never did until yesterday. Pretty much the only thing I could do to it was dye it a different color or scrap it. At first I thought about dying it black, then my friend suggested doing the arms and the body different colors; but we ended up dying it a dark red because oxblood red was and still is a trendy color.

Let’s see how it happened…

Warning: I used Rit liquid dye, so the following instructions will be for that brand of dye. There are other types of dye available, and how much dye you add/water temperature used can change depending on the dye you use. Just read the label before you start. I bought the dye at Wal-Mart for about $3 per bottle. Also use a bucket you don’t mind ruining, as you can see in the picture below the bucket is now tinted red. Last warning, the dye may leave your hands colored for a day. If you don’t want this to happen wear gloves.

Ribbet collage2

One: Fill you bucket with warm water leaving room to put your jacket in. Add some dye to the water; I didn’t use as much as the bottle told me to. I just guesstimated how much I thought would be necessary. Stir the dye around, and add more if you feel you need more. I added a little black to mine to make the color darker, but I think just adding more red dye would have done the trick.

Two: Let your jacket soak in the bucket. I left mine in there for about 20-30 minutes. Usually the longer you leave your garment soak the darker it will be.

pic3

Three: Rinse your jacket out until the water runs clear. I found filling the bucket up with water swishing it around, dumping it out and repeating a few times helped get the color out.

pic4

Four: Hang your jacket in the bathtub, and wait for it to dry. Once it’s dry throw it in the washer (probably by itself the first time), and then dryer.

Five: Done, and as always wear it! Check back soon for how I would wear this jacket.

pic5

Ribbet collage4

Thanks for visiting,
hope to see you soon.

XOXO,
Rae

One response to “DIY Day: Trashed to Trendy

  1. Pingback: 3 Things NEVER to Pay Retail For | Your Style High

Leave a Reply

