Vintage Find: 1950’s Korean War Souvenir

Hey, hey fashion people.

Yesterday I mentioned I had a major vintage find over Thanksgiving break at one of my local antique stores. And I’m here today to show you it.

I found it at an antique store, that I normally visit, in the mall. I typically just go in there to look because they have the most gorgeous costume jewelry. Beside the jewelry the rest of the store is mainly antique furniture, which I love to look at, but am not in the market for. But my mom and I went pre-Black Friday shopping on Wednesday night, and like always I stopped in the store to see what was new. My mom was looking at some christmas decorations on the other side of the store, and when I was done looking at the jewelry I went over by her, and immediately spotted a jacket hanging on a chair.

I picked it up, and started to examine it. I could tell it was old because the collar was worn, and as most other old pieces do it had sort of a smell to it. But I was interesting. The side that was facing out  was black and had a huge eagle stitched on the back, with two smaller eagles stitched on the front. Then on the inside, which is when I realized it was reversible, was white with an island with city names stitched on it with two palms trees stitched on the front. The white side was pretty dingy, but the black side was still in really good condition.

The owner of the store came over to tell me more about the piece. I love talking to him because he knows so much about all the pieces in his store. And it just so happens this jacket was from the 1950’s. Then he told us it was from Korea, and the soldiers, who were in Korea, would send home these jackets as souvenirs for their wives or girlfriends. And the white side with the island stitched on it is where the soldiers were stationed in Korea. I fell more in love with this jacket with each new little piece of information.

I also learned from my chat with the owner, if the soldiers name/number was stitched on the jacket it would be worth hundreds of dollars. Unfortunately, this jacket did not. He said he bought this one at an estate sale, and the guy there sold it to him for $20. He was asking me to pay $35. Not bad. I was ready to buy it at that moment. My mom; however, was not. I took her advice, and didn’t buy it for myself either.

I went home though, and immediately started researching these jackets to see what they looked like, if they were really worth as much as he said, and any other information I could find. Everything the owner told us was true. I even found a couple of jackets on eBay and similar sites selling similar jackets for $400! I showed my mom, and she said maybe it would be a cool piece to have in my closet.

I bought it Black Friday, and got a deal on it… $30! The only thing is, is my scared to wear it because I don’t want to break it.

Check it out.

Thanks for visiting,
hope to see you soon.

Let me know what you think by commenting, or subscribing.

XOXO,
Rae

2 responses to “Vintage Find: 1950’s Korean War Souvenir

  1. I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills
    and also with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme
    or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare
    to see a nice blog like this one nowadays.

Leave a Reply

