Thrift Tips: Getting the Smell Out

Bonjour my fellow fashionista’s. How is everyone’s week going?
Today I have a post for you that is long overdue. This summer I started my thrift tips series, and I have only have one tip so far. I thought today would be the perfect day to teach you how to get the stink out of your thrifted clothes.

Fist I want to start off by saying that everything you buy from a thrift store should be washed even if the tags are still on it because thrift stores have this.. odor to them that sticks to any and everything that is in the store. And I really don’t want any of you to smell like a thrift store. It’s not a very attractive smell.

Ready for the secret to getting out that smell? Wash it. Yup that’s it. Just throw it in the washing machine with the rest of your dirty clothes from the week. But first, remember to always check the label before washing for instructions on how-to wash it because some clothes say dry clean only on them. Typically, though, with clothes that say dry clean only (that I buy from thrift stores) I wash them just like all my other clothes, and will just hang them to dry instead of throwing them in the dryer. I do that because in one of my classes I learned that some clothing labels used to put dry clean only on everything so they wouldn’t have problems with customers/have to do the research to see what the proper way to wash the clothes were. And also I figure if something shrinks that I only paid $2.99 for it’s not a huge loss.

Shoes & Jewelry I tend to just wipe them down with a wet ones disinfectant cloth because sometimes there is mud or other stains on them. Make sure you wipe out the insides because you don’t want to get some sort of weird foot disease. Some shoes that are made out of cloth material you can wash them in one of those bags they make for bras.

BUT I must say if shoes, clothes, jewelry or anything I’m buying from a thrift store really looks like crap ie has a huge stain on it, is ripped or torn, or looks beat up I don’t buy it. Simple as that.

Thanks for visiting,
hope to see you soon.

XOXO,
Rae

ps. Happy Thrifting

Leave a Reply

