The Challenge

This weekend I had a leadership retreat, and part of the retreat was to get to know ourselves better so we can improve as leaders. Now one of my areas I need and want to fix is financial. I like to shop… a lot. It is really a problem when I’m away at school and not really working. It’s an even bigger problem when I’m away at school AND paying for being at school, and don’t have an income.

I tried a couple of times just not to shop. Quit cold turkey. No new clothes, no new make-up, no new shoes… nothing. It was hard, very hard, too hard. I would up after I in my head rationalized I haven’t shopped for what feels like years I need to buy this, and this, and this, and this, and this, and this. And it turns into a problem.

Now I’m sure I’m not the only one out there with this problem. After thinking about it for a while I came up with a plan that I’m mostly comfortable with. And I challenge you, if you have the same problems I do, to do this with me. We can help each other.

For the next 4 months. Yes October, November, December, and January. I am only going to spend $25 a month on clothes, make-up, accessories, or anything similar to that. If for some crazy reason I do not spend my full $25 that month it will carry over to the next month. That way if I find something I like within the next 4 months that expensive I will be learning how to save for it.

Good plan, right?

I sure hope so…

I will be sure to keep you posted on how I’m doing, and what I’m buying with my $25.

Thanks for visiting,
hope to see you soon.

XOXO,
Rae

P.S. You can always make a different plan for yourself. Maybe you are giving yourself $50 or only want to try for 2 months. Just make it work for you.

2 responses to “The Challenge

  1. Pingback: Goodwillin’ | Rae's Style

  2. Pingback: October Challenge- Success | Rae's Style

Leave a Reply

